top of page

News & Events

The latest news and events at the Club are provided below.

Game Review - Round 9

8 June 2024

An undermanned Saints side produced a performance that will be remembered for many years, as they smashed Wanneroo by 83 points at Wanneroo Showgrounds.

A quick glance at the results may suggest that the match was an easy victory.  However, the Saints had an extreme shortage of players across the League and Reserves squads, and went into the game with three players making their League debuts - Conal Bermingham, Brandon Cappeau and Kyle Oates.  The Saints also had seven players that played both League and Reserves games, which added further pressure to the squad. 

Despite the challenges, the Saints took control of the game from the opening bounce, with James Spicer and Jack Quayle proving lively up forward.  The Saints held a five goal margin at the first break, and piled on the pressure in the second term with another four goals.  At the same time, the Roos were kept to a solitary point, which was only the third time in history that the Saints have kepth their opponents goalless in the first half.

Brandon Cappeau was dangerous around the packs in the second half, while fellow debutant Conal Bermingham applied a bone-crunching block on a Wanneroo opponent that inspired the Saints.  The score rate slowed in the third term, but the margin had still extended to 58 points at three quarter time.

The Saints had plenty of scoring shots in the final term but couldn't quite capitalise on the scoreboard.  By the final siren, the Saints had record a percentage boosting win and their greatest ever winning margin against Wanneroo.

In the early game, the Reserves played the entire game without a bench, and looked in trouble early by conceding the first two goals.  However, it was all one-way traffic after quarter time as the Saints took control of the game.  Playing coach Jack Babic led from the front with a standout 5-goal haul, and was supported by Ben Mollett with four goals.

Game Review - Round 8

25 May 2024

The Saints fought bravely for three quarters but were outlasted by second placed Curtin Uni Wesley Tigers in the Round 8 clash at South Oval.

For the second week in a row, the Saints went into the game with 10 changes from last week but did welcome back some experienced players.  Joel Julian kicked the Saints first goal early in the first quarter, which was his 100th career goal for the Club.  The Tigers added their first midway through the term and the scores were level at quarter time.

The second term proved to be a battle of defences, as neither side was able to add a goal to the scoreboard.

Light rain impacted on play in the second half, but when Joel Julian marked and kicked his second goal early in the term, the Saints had opened up a 10-point lead.  However, the Tigers fought back on their home deck and were able to kick consecutive goals, including one on the three-quarter time siren to take a one-point lead heading into the final term.

The Saints were hampered by several injuries in the final term, and the Tigers took advantage to kick consecutive goals early in the term.  By mid-way through the quarter, the Saints were largely playing without any players left on the bench.  The Tigers added another couple of goals to extend the margin to 28 points by the final siren.

In the earlier game, the Reserves were no match for the Tigers.  However, the final margin of 75 points did not reflect the competitiveness and endeavour shown by the young Saints side throughout the entire game. 

2024-08 Stirling v Curtin Uni Wesley.png
bottom of page